Comparisons

The Best Restaurant Loyalty Programs and Apps in 2026

Your best guest is the lunch regular who comes twice a week, and the dinner couple you haven't seen since summer. We ranked ten options on what matters on the floor: nothing to download, a stamp while the check is paid, and messages that fill the slow nights.

By the StampyWallet team ·

The short answer

For an independent restaurant, our top pick is StampyWallet: guests add the card to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet by scanning the QR on the table, no app, every server stamps from their own phone, and on Growth ($49/month) the card automatically wins back guests who stopped coming, with 200 texts a month included and a report that measures, against a control group, the covers your messages brought back. Essential is $29/month before tax after a 30-day free trial. Square Loyalty and SpotOn make sense if you already run their POS. Thanx is built for restaurant chains, and Loyverse gives you free points with its free POS.

What we record

Five facts, recorded for every solution

No score out of ten, no stars: for each solution, what its maker's page says, on the same day. Here is how to read the marks.

  • Apple Wallet

    The card goes into the iPhone's Wallet app, already on your customers' phones.

  • Google Wallet

    The same card on Android, nothing to download.

  • Nothing to install

    Your customers have no app to download to keep their card.

  • A written price

    The entry price as the maker lists it, or the fact that it doesn't.

  • A trial

    How many days to try it, and whether a credit card is required.

  • Yes, or nothing to install
  • Partial
  • Not stated
  • No, or an app to install

One by one

The ranking, tool by tool

Our product

1. StampyWallet: best overall for independent restaurants

  • Apple WalletYes
  • Google WalletYes
  • Customer app requiredNo
Best for
Independent restaurants, pizzerias and counter-service spots
Price
$29 / £19 / €20 a month before tax ($24 / £16 / €17 billed yearly)
Trial
30 days, every Growth feature

Guests scan the QR on the table or at the register, and the card is in their Wallet before the check arrives. Servers stamp from any phone, iPhone included; the team is unlimited, double scans are blocked, and visits save even when the Wi-Fi drops in the kitchen. Run it on stamps, tiers or points per dollar spent, so the lunch special and a four-top dinner both count fairly. A Wallet notification, free, can announce tonight's special to everyone or only to guests who haven't been in for 30, 60 or 90 days. On Growth, win-back goes out on its own, gift cards sell for the holidays, and the report measures extra sales against a control group of one guest in ten.

Strengths

  • Free, unlimited Wallet notifications to everyone or a group
  • 200 texts a month on Growth, sent to guests who respond to texts
  • Gift cards for a meal or a dollar amount, redeemed with a scan
  • A report with a control group: what your messages really brought back

Limits

  • POS connection (SumUp, Zettle) on request, not self-serve
  • No online ordering or reservations

Create my cardSee our pricing

2. Square Loyalty: best if you already run Square POS

  • Apple WalletYes
  • Google WalletNot stated
  • Customer app requiredNot stated
Best for
Restaurants already checking out on Square
Price
Not listed on Square's loyalty page
Trial
30 days

Square Loyalty lives inside Square's point of sale: guests sign up at checkout, through your Square website or an invoice, and get automatic texts when they earn points or rewards. Square says guests can add a loyalty pass to Apple Wallet; Google Wallet isn't mentioned. The loyalty page doesn't show a price.

Strengths

  • Built into Square checkout
  • 30-day free trial

Limits

  • Square POS only
  • Price not shown on the loyalty page

Checked October 17, 2026 on squareup.com/us/en/software/loyalty, squareup.com/es/es/software/loyalty.

Full comparison: StampyWallet vs Square Loyalty

3. SpotOn Loyalty: best if you run SpotOn POS

  • Apple WalletNot stated
  • Google WalletNot stated
  • Customer app requiredNo
Best for
Restaurants on SpotOn POS
Price
$65/month added to SpotOn POS
Trial
No trial mentioned (demo)

SpotOn Loyalty is an add-on to SpotOn's restaurant POS at $65 a month. Guests earn points by visit or by dollars spent, and rewards apply automatically at checkout. They can sign up at the POS, through online ordering, your website, the GoTo Place app or a shareable link, so an app is optional. Wallet passes aren't mentioned.

Strengths

  • Rewards applied automatically at checkout
  • Several ways for guests to sign up, no app required

Limits

  • Requires SpotOn POS
  • No trial mentioned

Checked October 17, 2026 on spoton.com/solutions/loyalty.

4. Thanx: best for restaurant chains

  • Apple WalletNot stated
  • Google WalletNot stated
  • Customer app requiredNot stated
Best for
Multi-unit restaurant brands with a marketing team
Price
Quote only
Trial
No trial (free loyalty assessment)

Thanx is guest engagement software built for restaurants, from quick service to table service and coffee and treat shops. It covers loyalty, digital ordering and apps, marketing automation and guest recovery. Pricing depends on restaurant count, average unit volume and the capabilities you need, and it's quoted after a demo. Thanx says it currently works only with companies based in the US and Canada.

Strengths

  • Built only for restaurants
  • Loyalty, ordering and marketing in one platform

Limits

  • No published prices
  • US and Canada only
  • Aimed at chains, not a single location

Checked October 17, 2026 on thanx.com/pricing, thanx.com.

5. Kangaroo Rewards: best for a branded app across locations

  • Apple WalletNot stated
  • Google WalletNot stated
  • Customer app requiredNot stated
Best for
Restaurant groups that want their own rewards app
Price
$79/month (Core), $199 (Plus), $349 (Elite)
Trial
No trial mentioned

Kangaroo Rewards lists restaurants and bars among its industries and advertises automated email and SMS campaigns, a custom-branded rewards app, and integrations with POS systems like Lightspeed and Heartland. Plans start at $79 a month.

Strengths

  • Branded rewards app
  • POS integrations

Limits

  • $79/month to start
  • No trial mentioned

Checked October 17, 2026 on loyalty.kangaroorewards.com/pricing, loyalty.kangaroorewards.com.

Full comparison: StampyWallet vs Kangaroo Rewards

6. Loopy Loyalty: best for Wallet punch cards on a budget

  • Apple WalletYes
  • Google WalletYes
  • Customer app requiredNo
Best for
A cafe-style counter that wants a simple punch card
Price
$25/month ($250/year)
Trial
15 days, no credit card to sign up

Loopy Loyalty puts punch cards in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet on every plan, with unlimited customers and no app for guests. Starter covers one card design, one location and three staff users; Growth ($69) covers three locations and ten users.

Strengths

  • Wallet cards on every plan
  • Zapier, Make and API

Limits

  • Three staff users on Starter
  • No POS named among integrations

Checked October 17, 2026 on loopyloyalty.com/pricing, loopyloyalty.com.

Full comparison: StampyWallet vs Loopy Loyalty

7. Loyverse: best free option, if you use its POS

  • Apple WalletNot stated
  • Google WalletNot stated
  • Customer app requiredNot stated
Best for
A small restaurant that also wants a free POS
Price
Free (paid add-ons from $7/month)
Trial
Not applicable; 14 days on each paid add-on

Loyverse is a free POS, and its points-based loyalty program is free too. Guests are looked up by name, phone number or a barcode loyalty card, earn points on each purchase and redeem them as discounts; their balance prints on the receipt. Paid add-ons are per store: unlimited sales history at $7 a month, employee management at $25. Wallet passes aren't mentioned.

Strengths

  • Free POS and free loyalty
  • Points balance on every receipt

Limits

  • Only works with Loyverse POS
  • Employee management is $25/month extra

Checked October 17, 2026 on loyverse.com/pricing, loyverse.com/loyalty-program.

Full comparison: StampyWallet vs Loyverse

8. Stamp Me: best for tap-to-stamp hardware

  • Apple WalletPartial
  • Google WalletPartial
  • Customer app requiredYes
Best for
Counters that want a tap-and-go pod
Price
$49/month (or €29)
Trial
30 days from your first published card, no credit card

Stamp Me cards live in the Stamp Me app, which guests download to join. Apple Wallet and Google Wallet only hold the member code when you validate with the Stamp Business app. The highlight is StampPod, a tap-and-go pod at the register.

Strengths

  • Tap-and-go StampPod

Limits

  • Guests must download the Stamp Me app

Checked October 17, 2026 on stampme.com/pricing, stampme.com.

Full comparison: StampyWallet vs Stamp Me

9. Boomerangme: best for franchises

  • Apple WalletYes
  • Google WalletYes
  • Customer app requiredNo
Best for
Franchises running cards for many locations
Price
From $199/month ($164 billed yearly)
Trial
14 days, no credit card

Boomerangme puts cards in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet with no app, with a free browser-based scanner for staff. Business starts at $199 a month with unlimited loyalty cards and 50 manager seats; Franchise is $299.

Strengths

  • Wallet cards, no app
  • 14-day trial, no credit card

Limits

  • $199/month to start

Checked October 17, 2026 on boomerangme.com/pricing, boomerangme.com.

Full comparison: StampyWallet vs Boomerangme

10. Stampeo: cheapest Wallet card for a two-person food truck

  • Apple WalletYes
  • Google WalletYes
  • Customer app requiredNo
Best for
A food truck or snack bar run by two people
Price
€20/month, €16/month billed yearly
Trial
30 days, card required

Stampeo, a French tool, lists restaurants and food trucks among its typical businesses. Cards go in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet with no app, and the stamping app is free. Starter is €16 a month billed yearly for two team members; Growth (€40) opens unlimited team and eight broadcasts a month.

Strengths

  • €16/month billed yearly

Limits

  • Two team members on Starter
  • Priced in euros

Checked October 17, 2026 on stampeo.app/pricing, stampeo.app.

Full comparison: StampyWallet vs Stampeo

Line by line

The comparison at a glance

Tool Starting price Apple Wallet Google Wallet Customer app required Free trial Best for
1. StampyWallet$29 / £19 / €20 a month before tax ($24 / £16 / €17 billed yearly)YesYesNo30 days, every Growth featureIndependent restaurants, pizzerias and counter-service spots
2. Square LoyaltyNot listed on Square's loyalty pageYesNot statedNot stated30 daysRestaurants already checking out on Square
3. SpotOn Loyalty$65/month added to SpotOn POSNot statedNot statedNoNo trial mentioned (demo)Restaurants on SpotOn POS
4. ThanxQuote onlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNo trial (free loyalty assessment)Multi-unit restaurant brands with a marketing team
5. Kangaroo Rewards$79/month (Core), $199 (Plus), $349 (Elite)Not statedNot statedNot statedNo trial mentionedRestaurant groups that want their own rewards app
6. Loopy Loyalty$25/month ($250/year)YesYesNo15 days, no credit card to sign upA cafe-style counter that wants a simple punch card
7. LoyverseFree (paid add-ons from $7/month)Not statedNot statedNot statedNot applicable; 14 days on each paid add-onA small restaurant that also wants a free POS
8. Stamp Me$49/month (or €29)PartialPartialYes30 days from your first published card, no credit cardCounters that want a tap-and-go pod
9. BoomerangmeFrom $199/month ($164 billed yearly)YesYesNo14 days, no credit cardFranchises running cards for many locations
10. Stampeo€20/month, €16/month billed yearlyYesYesNo30 days, card requiredA food truck or snack bar run by two people

Prices and features checked on October 17, 2026 on each vendor's public pages, cited under each tool. "Not stated" means the vendor's page doesn't say. Prices change: check with them before deciding.

How to choose

What to check before you pick one

  1. 01

    A stamp while the check is paid

    The stamp has to happen at payment, by whoever runs the card. A Wallet card scans from any phone; loyalty built into a POS (Square, SpotOn, Loyverse) happens without a scan but only on that POS.

  2. 02

    Fill the slow nights

    An empty Tuesday dinner gets filled by a message sent Tuesday at noon to the right guests. A Wallet notification is free and shows on the lock screen; a text reaches guests who never saved the card. Check which is included and which is metered.

  3. 03

    Published price or a quote

    StampyWallet, Loopy Loyalty, SpotOn, Kangaroo Rewards, Loyverse, Stamp Me, Boomerangme and Stampeo publish prices. Thanx quotes after a demo, and Square doesn't show a price on its loyalty page.

  4. 04

    Measure what came back

    Your lunch regular comes every week anyway; the message you sent him brought nothing extra. Only a comparison with guests who got nothing tells you what your messages really earn.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

Setting up a wallet card for the first time? How to create a loyalty card for Apple Wallet, step by step.

What is the best loyalty program for a restaurant?

For an independent restaurant, we recommend StampyWallet: Apple Wallet and Google Wallet cards with no app, unlimited staff, $29/month before tax and a 30-day free trial, plus win-back, 200 texts a month, gift cards and a report with a control group on Growth ($49/month). If you already run Square or SpotOn POS, their built-in loyalty is the easy path.

Do restaurant guests need to download an app?

No. A Wallet card goes into Apple Wallet or Google Wallet from the QR on the table. A branded app makes sense for a chain that also sells online; for a single restaurant, the Wallet is enough.

Can a loyalty program connect to my restaurant POS?

Square Loyalty and SpotOn Loyalty are built into their own POS, Loyverse is a POS itself, and Kangaroo Rewards integrates with systems like Lightspeed and Heartland. With StampyWallet, a SumUp or Zettle connection is set up on request; without it, you stamp by scanning the card while the guest pays.

How much does a restaurant loyalty program cost?

As of October 17, 2026: free with Loyverse POS, €16/month billed yearly for Stampeo, $25/month for Loopy Loyalty, $29/month for StampyWallet, $49/month for Stamp Me, $65/month on top of SpotOn POS, $79/month for Kangaroo Rewards, and from $199/month for Boomerangme. Square and Thanx don't publish a loyalty price.

Is this ranking unbiased?

It's written by the StampyWallet team, and StampyWallet comes first; we say so at the top. Every price and feature for the other tools comes from the vendor's own page, with the address and the date we checked it. Spot a mistake? Email us and we'll fix it.

Thirty days to make up your own mind

Thirty days free, no commitment, every Growth feature open. A printed sign and your phone are enough to stamp your first customer this afternoon.

Create my card See every comparison

Trademarks belong to their respective owners and are named here for comparison only. The information comes from their publishers' public pages on the date shown. Spotted an error or a stale price? Write to bonjour@stampywallet.com and we will fix it.