Comparisons

A Square Loyalty alternative that works with any register

Square Loyalty is a points program built into Square: it comes with the Square Plus plan, at $49 a month per location, and runs on Square's point of sale. StampyWallet is a stand-alone stamp and points card for Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, at $29 a month, that works next to whatever register you already have. Square's figures below were read on its own pricing page.

Both offers, read on the same day

Entry price

StampyWallet : $29 / £19 / €20 a monthbefore tax

Square Loyalty : Included in Square Plus: $49/month per location

Setup fee

StampyWallet : €0

Square Loyalty : None listed; Square card processing fees on sales

Trial

StampyWallet : 30 days free

Square Loyalty : 30 days free

Commitment

StampyWallet : No commitment

Square Loyalty : No locked-in contracts, cancel anytime

What is capped

StampyWallet : Unlimited customers, cards and scans

Square Loyalty : Not in Square Free; runs on Square POS, Invoices or Square Online

Square Loyalty prices read on October 17, 2026 from their public pricing page (squareup.com/us/en/pricing). Prices change : check before deciding.

Our verdict

If you already run everything on Square, its loyalty program comes with Square Plus. If you don't, getting it means moving your register to Square at $49 a month per location. StampyWallet is $29 a month, keeps the register you have, and puts the card in both wallets from one QR code.

Create my card See our pricing

What changes

Why StampyWallet rather than Square Loyalty

Keep the register you have

Square's loyalty page says you build the program when you run your business with Square, and points are earned through Square Point of Sale, Square Invoices or Square Online. StampyWallet doesn't care what's on your counter: you scan the card from any phone, iPhone included, and a SumUp or Zettle register is connected with you, included in the subscription.

$29 for a loyalty card, not $49 for a POS plan

Square Loyalty isn't part of Square Free: it comes with Square Plus, a full point of sale plan billed $49 a month per location. If what you want is a card your regulars actually keep, our Essential plan is $29 a month before tax, or $24 billed yearly.

Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, from one QR code

Square's loyalty page describes a pass for Apple Wallet and doesn't mention Google Wallet. Our card goes into either wallet from the same QR code at your counter, and a phone with no wallet gets the same card in its browser.

Free notifications to the right people

Every plan sends free Wallet notifications to all your customers, or to groups that build themselves: gone for 30, 60 or 90 days, one stamp from a reward, birthdays this month, your top 20%, newcomers. Growth adds 200 texts a month, sent to the customers who respond to texts, with the budget spread across the month.

Proof your messages brought people back

Growth's report holds 1 customer in 10 out of each campaign as a control group, then shows the extra visits, and an estimate of the extra sales, that your messages actually caused.

Cards that outlive your subscription

If you stop paying us, your customers keep their cards and their stamps, and you can keep stamping. You lose the numbers and the messages, not what your customers earned.

Over a year

What the entry plan costs, StampyWallet or Square Loyalty

Each entry price, taken from its own pricing page, times the number of months, plus any setup fee. As listed, before usage fees.

What their page says: « Included in Square Plus: $49/month per location » ; « None listed; Square card processing fees on sales ». Our price here is the one on our dollar price list.

Over 12 months

StampyWallet Essential$348

12 × $29 a month + $0 setup

Square Loyalty$588

12 × $49 a month + $0 setup

$240 less with StampyWallet over 12 months.

Line by line

StampyWallet and Square Loyalty, line by line

  • Yes
  • With conditions
  • Not stated
Criterion StampyWallet Square Loyalty
The card3
Apple WalletYes : YesYes : Yes
Google WalletYes : Yes, from the same QR codeNot stated : Not mentioned on its loyalty page
Reward typesStamps, points, points per dollar, several rewards per cardPoints and rewards, VIP tiers
At the counter1
What you need to run itAny phone at the counter, any registerSquare POS, Square Invoices or Square Online
Messages and texts2
TextsYes : 200 a month included in Growth ($49)With conditions : 500 a month included, then 3¢ each
Report with a control groupYes : Yes, in GrowthNot stated : Not mentioned on its loyalty page
Price and terms2
Entry price$29 / £19 / €20 a month, before tax$49 / month per location (Square Plus)
Trial30 days free30 days free
Your data, and the day you stop1
Data hostingFrance (OVH, Strasbourg), under GDPRNot stated

The marks sum up each cell; the recorded text is what counts. "Not stated" means their page does not say it, nothing more. Square Loyalty prices read on October 17, 2026 from their public pricing page (squareup.com/us/en/pricing). Prices change : check before deciding.

What changes

Adding StampyWallet next to Square

You don't have to leave Square to switch loyalty programs. Here is how shops usually do it.

  1. 01

    Keep ringing sales as usual

    Nothing changes at the till. The customer pays the way they always do, and you scan their wallet card from any phone next to the register.

  2. 02

    Give regulars a head start

    To thank customers who already collected points with you, give up to five welcome stamps at sign-up, so nobody feels they are starting from zero.

  3. 03

    Try it for 30 days first

    Every Growth feature is open during the trial. Put the QR poster by the register and watch who adds the card and who comes back, before you pay anything.

Who it is for

The businesses we built this for

A coffee shop, a bakery or a barbershop that rings up sales on something other than Square, and doesn't want to replace its register to get a loyalty card. You keep your till, your card reader and your habits, and your regulars get a card in their wallet the first time they scan the QR code by the register.

Hair salons

A client who comes back at six weeks instead of ten is two extra visits a year. The card counts the visits, the win-back catches the ones drifting away, and the stamp happens while you take payment.

Nail technicians

A new set every three to four weeks is exactly the rhythm of a ten-slot card. A free set at the end, or a tier halfway, and the reminder goes out on its own when the gap stretches.

Beauty salons

Treatments, waxing, packages : it all rides on the next appointment. The card stays in the phone, and the birthday message only goes out if you have written what you are offering. Never a bare wish.

Cafés and bakeries

A passing customer installs nothing : they scan the QR on the counter, the card is in their wallet in three seconds, and the tenth free coffee is what pays for the first nine.

Setting up a wallet card for the first time? How to create a loyalty card for Apple Wallet, step by step.

Questions

StampyWallet and Square Loyalty, the questions that keep coming up

Is Square Loyalty free?

No. According to Square's pricing page, the loyalty rewards program isn't part of Square Free: it comes with Square Plus, at $49 a month per location, or Square Premium, at $149. Both have a 30-day free trial.

Do I need Square to use Square Loyalty?

Yes. Square says you build the program when you run your business with Square, and customers earn points through Square Point of Sale, Square Invoices or a Square Online site. StampyWallet works on its own: you stamp from any phone, whatever register you use.

What is the best Square Loyalty alternative for a small shop?

For an independent café, bakery, salon or barbershop that wants a wallet card without changing its register: StampyWallet, from $29 a month before tax (£19 in the UK, €20 in Europe), with an unlimited team, free notifications and 30 days free.

Does the card work on Android?

Ours goes into Google Wallet as well as Apple Wallet, from the same QR code. Square's loyalty page mentions a pass for Apple Wallet and doesn't mention Google Wallet.

Thirty days to make up your own mind

Thirty days free, no commitment, every Growth feature open. A printed sign and your phone are enough to stamp your first customer this afternoon.

Create my card See every comparison

Trademarks belong to their respective owners and are named here for comparison only. The information comes from their publishers' public pages on the date shown. Spotted an error or a stale price? Write to bonjour@stampywallet.com and we will fix it.